Sunday, March 17, 2013

I do Belive

I do believe that I have reviewed several Warriors books on here, haven't I?  Well, for those of you who do not know, the Warrior Cats series is a Middle Grade series by the pseudonym Erin Hunter, who is actually several authors entirely.  Warrior Cats is about several generations of wild cats that live in clans and their lives.  The series is written in several arcs, as well as super editions, field guides, and Mangas.  Each arc is based roughly on the generation of characters that are being highlighted.  First there is the Original Arc, then The New Prophecy, then The Power of Three, then The Omen of the Stars.  Each arc features 6 books with individual plots, as well as ongoing issues within the arcs themselves, and as the entire series as a whole.

As of March 5, 2013, a new arc as been published, a prequel arc.  The first book in that arc is The Sun Trail which I read just a week ago.


Before Rusty left his kittypet home...

Before Bluestar ruled ThunderClan...

Before Crookedstar made his fateful promise...

The warrior Clans were born.

Find out how it all came to be in this brand-new arc that reveals the origins of the four Clans. Featuring a new cast of characters, a richly developed world, and a never-before-seen look at the history of the warrior cats, this prologue arc is perfect for existing fans and for those new to the Warriors world.


Contrary to what the synopsis says, I honestly wouldn't recommend reading this before the other arcs because of the spoilers to the plot.  I would say that current fans will much enjoy this, and it never faltered from previous set standards of Warriors books.

In Erin Hunters majestic world, these cats possess human emotions.  Which makes sense, because it is humans that are reading this, right?  Anyway, speaking in a metaphorical way, this book in particular to the rest of the story really examines a lot of right and wrong and what is too far.  

Gray Wing is a fantastic protagonist, even with his seriousness.  You see his ups, his downs, his moments of obliviousness, and with all of them you feel it in your heart along with him.  This journey was not an easy one, either.  *SPOILERS*  In the beginning of the story, Gray Wing's tribe is dying around him.  It hits home finally when his younger sister dies, prompting his leader to send a group of his tribe mates to this other territory to live.  Gray Wing does not want to go, but his littermate Clear Sky and sweet heart  Turtle Tail are going.  The group leaves, but  then Gray Wings other brother Jagged Peak goes missing, and Gray Wing ends up on this journey anyway, because Jagged Peak was a silly kit and ran away.  Now Gray Wing is there, on the journey, trying to make the best of it when tragedy strikes again, Clear Sky's mate is killed and it's Graywing's fault. 

 I won't go into too much more detail, but this book was fast paced and sad.  It had happy moments, and a lot of hope, especially considering that it is a prequel and I know everything that is going to happen next.

This book was well written for a Middle Grade series, and I am eagerly awaiting further reads.


No comments:

Post a Comment